Reviews For 1888
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Redrosewitch Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: May 23, 2012 - 05:06 pm Title: Friction at Fawkelands

Tilly's not the pleasantest of people, but it's hard to feel any pity for Florence. She's not been taught any manners, and clearly Lord H-F has a much better notion of lady-like behaviour that Florences foolish father.

( It's a while since I read this story. I'll have to go back and remind myself of what happened to Molly.)

Reviewer: Redrosewitch Signed starstarstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: May 23, 2012 - 04:45 pm Title: The New Maid

Something tells me Florence has her match in Tilly.
I love Lord H-F. He doesn't pander to Florences whims in the least.
And that's just what she needs.

Reviewer: Scary Bear Hair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Nov 04, 2009 - 03:18 am Title: Friends in Need

I do believe Florence is developing a conscious. She seems to truly be in earnest about helping Molly. Florence seems softer, kinder, as if being loved has made her more charitable. She was even kinder to Tilly.

I had to laugh that Tilly is bummed that Florence doesn’t get punished as much anymore. I hope Tilly will be able to find Molly. I can’t believe Florence didn’t even know Molly’s last name. She really was self absorbed before, wasn’t she?

‘You’re a beast,’ she growled, hoping that he would increase her sentence for impertinence.,/i> Obviously Florence loves being over Lord Hunter-Fox’s knee. LOLOL

Anyway, lovely chapter, Shez!

Reviewer: Scary Bear Hair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Oct 15, 2009 - 02:04 pm Title: A Noble Act

Yaaaay!!!! I’m so relieved. You had me so worried about poor Jessie. I’m so happy that the Equerry had a change of heart and let her go. I have a feeling he put his own life in danger to save her. Obviously he has feelings for her. The Archduke is just an evil man!

Anyway, is Alex going to go find Molly? I don’t think Molly is safe and I know Mary isn’t safe. Will the Equerry try to replace Jessie with Mary? Yikes! You’re story has just enough dark edges to make me squirm.

Thank you for updating! You’re a sweetie!

Reviewer: Scary Bear Hair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Sep 27, 2009 - 01:26 pm Title: Entente Cordiale

I am giggling because I think part of the reason Florence wants Molly back is because she wants to get rid of Tillie. LOL
I’m so glad though that she wants to go look for her. Florence may very well save Molly’s life. I see everything coming together in this exciting conclusion. I love how you have slowly weaved all these plots lines closer together. Here Mary is looking for Lord Hunter-Fox and Florence will be looking for Molly.

I am still horribly worried about Jessie though. This story is starting to get quite suspenseful. Great chapter, hon!

Reviewer: Scary Bear Hair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Aug 24, 2009 - 12:55 am Title: Caged

Just thinking about what the evil Heinz-Werner intends to do with poor Jessie is making me sick to my stomach. I feel like he is some monster that likes to slice up women like labatory rats. The Equerry must be bothered about this, I know. That kiss was powerful. He must feel something! Please tell me that he will save Jessie. You really have built up the suspense quite well. I am tangled in knots!

As always, excellent writing, Shez! This story is excellent!

Reviewer: BeaBibliophile Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Aug 21, 2009 - 05:54 pm Title: Caged

Ah! How very frigtening. I'm worried about Jessie, and I do hope the Equerry saves her from whatever Heinz-Werner has in store. There are so many plot threads that I can't quite decide which one I want to read about. Anyway, another thrilling chapter!

Bea

Reviewer: Scary Bear Hair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Aug 04, 2009 - 04:32 am Title: Tea and Sympathy

Well Alex is being rather sweet with Molly, isn’t he? Of course he always was a charmer. I suppose it would be nice if he did clean up his act, especially if he was going to help poor Molly out. I am terribly worried about her.

The one I am most concerned about though is Jessie. I keep thinking of her still tied to the bed. What do they intend to do with her?

Anyway, thanks for still working away on this. You’re a sweetie.

Reviewer: BeaBibliophile Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Aug 03, 2009 - 03:22 pm Title: Tea and Sympathy

I'm glad Molly's luck is turning. Though I often like the villain more than the victim, Molly is such a sweet, endearing character who has managed to maintain a certain innocence despite all that's happened. I'm glad you've reformed Alex, he wasn't a proper villain anyway because... because the (Byronic) hero, Hunter-Fox, is much sexier than Alex. If the hero is sexier than the villain, I make exceptions. Anyway, enough of me waffling on. I'm excited to see if Molly and Mary's plan come to fruition--hope it does. Also, what exactly was that man doing to the girls? I know, I know: all will be revealed in due time. Lovely chapter, dear.

Bea

Reviewer: bellafata Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Jul 28, 2009 - 04:51 pm Title: The Sun Shines on the Righteous

i'm glad we're finally seeing a glimpse of a happy ending for florence... it will probably take a lot more work, but i don't really think she's all that selfish, just a bit naive at times... i like her and i think lord hunter-fox really does care for her, in his way. n

i'm still very worried about jessie though! when the austrian oddity gets home, i wonder if he'll be upset with his equerry over how jessie was treated in his absence or some other, horrible opposite emotion. and i keep waiting for the ripper shoe to drop.

Reviewer: Scary Bear Hair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Jul 17, 2009 - 03:20 am Title: The Sun Shines on the Righteous

I love this, because it shows that Florence is good for Lord Hunter-Fox. He needs to ease up a bit and relax. I loved seeing them walk through the waves too. I could picture it so well in my mind. I almost envisioned it painted by my favorite, John Singer Sargent. I think you capture the mood and the nuances of the Victorian period so vividly. Lovely writing as always.

Reviewer: BeaBibliophile Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Jul 16, 2009 - 03:12 pm Title: The Sun Shines on the Righteous

Ah, so exquisitely lovely, so impeccably written. I should say that this is my favourite story on the web hands down. I love the Harry Potter fandom but nothing, in my mind, can beat an original story (though it helps that I can picture Alan in the lead role). I love the thought of Hunter-Fox and Florence cavorting about in the waves. Very sensual and lovely. I wait eagerly for more!

 

Bea



Author's Response: Thank you, Bea - you have made my evening! I love my Hunter-Fox, I do.

Reviewer: Scary Bear Hair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Jun 29, 2009 - 01:27 am Title: Cleansing

Oh yes, I have to agree with Bea too. The "lucky" comment is very enigmatic.

Reviewer: Scary Bear Hair Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Jun 29, 2009 - 01:25 am Title: Cleansing

Poor Jessie, I feel so sorry for her being chained to that bed for two months. It almost seems unimaginable, especially if her muscles have started to atrophy.

Yet I detect a hint of mercy in the equerry. I think he feels bad for what he’s done. This is why he is philosophically talking about different types of wickedness to her.

I hope Vyvyan and Alex save her.
This was another great chapter.

Reviewer: BeaBibliophile Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: Jun 28, 2009 - 02:53 pm Title: Cleansing

Wait, why is she lucky?! *puzzle over these words for the rest of the evening* Anyway, I'm grateful for any chapter, however short. Interesting progress. And I can't wait for the Equerry and Jesse to go at it... they will, right? Pleeeeeease?

 

Bea

You must login (register) to review.
The Foyer - FAQ - Contact Us